Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services: World Book

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

About World Book

World Book provides seven separate encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source resources, which are listed below.                   

Promotional Materials

Choose the specific resource for materials  

Additional Training Opportunities

Primary Audience and Categories

Moving from Early World of Learning to World Book Advanced, World Book Online aligns end-users with their appropriate learning levels. Each stand-alone site provides additional features to support the needs of users' specific capabilities.

World Book Resource List

World Book Activity Corner

World Book Advanced

For educators and parents, it offers thousands of projects suitable for the classroom and library. Each activity has easy-to-follow steps and a list of required materials. 
Category: Educators & Librarians

World Book Advanced (Grades 9-12)

World Book Advanced

Full encyclopedia and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, back in time articles, special reports and more. Web Link to WorldBook
Category: High School

 


World Book Discover

World Book Discover

Has reference resources for differentiated instruction, such as ESL, reluctant readers, and adult learners. Also includes an extensive life skills section. 
Category: Career & Test Prep, General Research, Languages


World Book : L'Encyclopédie Découverte (French Language Encyclopedia)

World Book French Language Encyclopedia

Written in Canadian French to a level appropriate for young native French speakers, as well as for older students and adults for whom French is a second language. 
Category: Languages


World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (Spanish Language Encyclopedia)

World Book Spanish Language Encyclopedia

A beginner's Spanish-language reference tool, it includes the elements of World Book Kids — thousands of articles, videos, maps, and games and activities. 
Category: Languages

World Book Kids (Grades K-5)

World Book Kids

A general reference for elementary students, it offers easy-to-read articles with embedded multimedia, images and videos as well as games, science projects, and activities. 
Category: Elementary School

 


World Book Student (Grades 5-9)

World Book Students

Includes the print versions of the World Book Encyclopedia, plus thousands of additional articles, learning resources, videos, student activities, and research tools. 
Category: Elementary School, Middle School

For More Information

Questions?

Please Contact

David Bradford
Digital Resources Coordinator
David.Bradford@state.sd.us
605-295-3174 or 605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

Alissa Adams
School Library Technology Coordinator
Alissa.Adams@state.sd.us
605-295-3152 or 605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

Nina Mentzel
Metadata Librarian
Nina.Mentzel@state.sd.us
605-773-6391 or 605-280-6911