Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services: OCLC Resources

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

About OCLC Suite of Resources

OCLC provides WorldCat, the worldwide online catalog, and 12 other databases, which are listed below.    OCLC Logo 

          

WorldCat Help

To access WorldCat, your username and password is your State Library ECard or your SD Share-It participating library card barcode and password.

Additional Training Opportunities

Promotional Materials

Library Guides

Primary Audience and Categories

For researchers age 10 and up. For those wishing to search worldwide for books through WorldCat.

OCLC Resource List

ARCHIVE GRID

Collection of over four million archival material descriptions from thousands of libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies. 
Category: Genealogy, Scholarly Research

 

CAMIO

Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — Almost 100,000 art images from leading museums; for education, research and enjoyment. Content is rights-cleared for educational use.
Access: Inside Library Only
Category: General Research, Scholarly ResearchMiddle School, High School

 

FIRST SEARCH

Search for information on a wide range of subjects in twelve databases: ArticleFirst, ClasePeriodica, ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAlster, PapersFirst, Proceedings, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations. 
Category: Business, Educators & Librarians, General Research, Health & Medicine, Scholarly Research

FirstSearch Base Package includes access to indexes books, articles, dissertations, archive material, and more. One can select the database to search when logged into WorldCat.

 

WORLDCAT

Search the online catalogs of multiple libraries, including ones outside of South Dakota. WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content, containing more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

It contains more than 135 million bibliographic records and holdings information from 72,000+ libraries across the world, including those of the SD State Library and 25+ other SD libraries. WorldCat has records for any item/format that could be found in any library: musical scores, books, serial publications, computer files, Internet resources, sound recordings, archival materials, maps, and visual materials. WorldCat covers information back to 2100 B.C.E. and in over 400 languages.

 

For More Information

Special Login Instructions

CAMIO can only be accessed within a library building.

Questions?

Please Contact

David Bradford
Digital Resources Coordinator
David.Bradford@state.sd.us
605-295-3174 or 605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

Alissa Adams
School Library Technology Coordinator
Alissa.Adams@state.sd.us
605-295-3152 or 605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

Nina Mentzel
Metadata Librarian
Nina.Mentzel@state.sd.us
605-773-6391 or 605-280-6911

More about OCLC

OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world's information and reducing information costs. More than 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories around the world have used OCLC services to locate, acquire, catalog, lend and preserve library materials.