Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Public Library Institutte

Coordinated by the South Dakota State Library, the Library Training Institute is a four-year program of continuing education for South Dakota-based library practitioners, support staff and trustees of small public libraries. The program requires week-long attendance at a host university in June and selected online coursework during the fall and winter months in between the June sessions. No prior formal library science education, or previous college attendance, is required to attend.

Institute participants can start the program at any point in the curriculum, but must complete a four-year program of continuing education that includes on-campus and off-campus requirements in seven (7) years. Institute instructors provide in-depth classes in: the foundations of public library service; public library administration; services to the public; collections; cataloging and metadata; technology; as well as other current topics.. Students earn college credit from the host university, and after completion of the program, are recognized as certified public library practitioners.

Scholarships are limited and also based on need.

The credits that attendees receive are from the university that hosts the Library Institute.  We have attended the following universities:

DSU,  Dakota State University; Madison SD

SDSU , South Dakota State University; Brookings SD

NSU, Northern State University; Aberdeen SD

The graduates of the SD State Library Institute program and the library in which they worked at the time of their attendance.

Karla Bieber A.H. Brown Public Library
Dee Cole Alcester Community Library
Debbie Were Alexandar Mitchell Public Library
Kathy Case Alexandar Mitchell Public Library
Syrenna Maranell  Alexandar Mitchell Public Library
Lorraine Nordmann Ashley Memorial Library
Jane Norling Beresford Public Library
Julie Morren Beresford Public Library
Janelle Kelly Big Stone City Branch Library
Jan Gossman Bison Public Library
Kronberg, Kallie Bison Public Library
Nina Loper Bison Public Library
Stacey Kvale  Bison Public Library
Betty Kolb Brandon Branch; Siouxland
Peggy Lind Brandon Branch; Siouxland
Rhonda Hardina  Britton Public Library
Peggy Satrang Britton Public Library
Sonia Wolf Britton Public Library
Sue Bull Britton Public Library
Averell Braun Burke Public Library
Contance Hoffman Burke Public Library
Arla Albertson Canton Public Library
Edith Nelson Canton Public Library
Iris Schultz Canton Public Library
Linda Dobbs Centerville Community Library
Linda Holmberg Centerville Community Library
Lindsey Hansen  Centerville Community Library
Mary Nelson Ferwerda Centerville Community Library
Teresa Petersen Hamlin-Codington Regional Library
Carole Stricherz Cozard Memorial Library
Melissa Hutmacher Cozard Memorial Library
Doris Ann Mertz Custer County Library
Marguerite Cullum Custer County Library
Janet Miller Dakota Valley School
Carol Reif Deadwood Public Library
Brittany  Moeller Dell Rapids Carnegie Library
Deb Huska Dell Rapids Carnegie Library
Margaret Salzer Dewey County Library
May Petersen Dewey County Library
Bucholz Lillie Doland Public Library
Ashley Courtney Edgemont Public Library
Kelly Marriot  Edgemont Public Library
Sherry Bauman Elkton School/Community Library
Donna Lynn Elkton School/Community Library
Lee Ann Kaufman  Freeman Community Library
Bernie Koller Freeman Community Library
Becky Wellnitz Grant County Library
Holly Johnston Grant County Library
Jody Carlson Grant County Library
Judy Harms Grant County Library
Robin Schrupp Grant County Library
Janice Tilton Gregory Public Library
Diane Althoff  Gregory Public Library
Missy Koester Haakon County Library
Deb Ruhnke Hand County Library
Laurel Lammers Hand County Library
Cindy Girard Hill City Community Library
Muriel Andreson Hill City Community Library
Shelia Isac Holbrook Library
Dawn Johnson  Hot Springs Public Library
Edie Hooper Hot Springs Public Library
Marilyn Jorgensen Hurley Public Library
Stephanie Lorenz Huron Public lIbrary
Mary Tabbert Hyde County Library
Sharon Hinseth Irene School/Community Library
Susan Buchannon Irene School/Community Library
Deb Moor Jackson County Library
Alta Copeland Kennebec Public Library
Mary Jo Parker Lake Andes Public Library
Carole Watrous Lemmon Public Library
Raven Christman Lemmon Public Library
Joyce Mosley Lemmon Public Library
Della Schaffner Leola Public Library
Ardis Ladely Long Valley School Library
Sandy LaCroix Lower Brule Community College Library
Lydia Schmeichel McLaughlin Public Library
Cindy Meinen Mitchell Public Library
Jean Jons Mitchell Public Library
Linda Rishling Mitchell Public Library
Lori Wagner Mitchell Public Library
Gwen Kitzan Newell Public Library
Kay Newth Newell Public Library
Juanita Grewing North Sioux City Library
Ron Randall Ogalala Lakota College Library
Wilma Witt Ogalala Lakota College Library
Kathy Rand Parker Public Library
Kathy Behrend Parkston Public Library
Cyndie Harlan  Phoebe Apperson Hearst Public Library
Lili Sjomerling Phoebe Apperson Hearst Public Library
Peggy Dobbs Phoebe Apperson Hearst Public Library
Jane Abernathy  Piedmont Valley Library
Delores Pourier Pine Ridge Library
Anita Nachitgal Platte Public Library
Peggy Williams Potter County Free Library
Renae Lehman Potter County Free Library
Barbara Vander Vorst Potter County Free Library
Linda Rogers Rapid City Public Library
Nancy Lloyd Rapid City Public Library
Rhonda Berger Rapid City Public Library
Betty Baloun Redfield Carnegie Library
Linda Keller Redfield Carnegie Library
JoAnn Gemar Scotland Community Library
Kara Vehar Scotland Community Library
Michelle Kass  Scotland Community Library
Bonita Johnson Scotland Community Library
Bell Jacobsen SD State Library
Gail Jacobsen SD State Library
Lillie Bucholz  Sherwood Memorial Library
Susan Carlson Siouxland Libraries
Delores Eggen Sisseton Memorial Library
Jayne Nieland Sisseton Memorial Library
Delight Robertson  Sisseton Wahpeton College Library
Doris Dickinson Hanson-McCook Central Library
Ginny Sannes  Sturgis School District
Jackie Aspelin Sully Area Library
Sandra Hansen Tripp County Library
Caroline Ackerman Viborg Public Library
Kari Kokesh Viborg Public Library
Joyce Jensen Viborg Public Library
Angela Grider Wakonda Public Library
Gladys Gerriets Webster Public Library
Ewalt, Teri Webster Public Library
Barb Horsley Wessington Springs Carnegie Library
Deb Arne Western Dakota Tech Library
Dorothy Martian Whitewood Public Library
Rea Weyrich Whitewood Public Library
Corriene Jordahl Yankton Community Library
Linda Weberg Yankton Community Library
Susie Lippert Yankton Community Library


Loading ...

Learn About Public Library Institute


Contact Kathleen Slocum, Continuing Education Coordinator, 605-773-8438