Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Library Policies and Procedures

The board of trustees is responsible for adopting written policies that govern and guide all phases of library operation. Policies are general, flexible statements governing library operations, rules and use. They are not carved in stone. Policies must be tailored to meet changing local conditions and should be derived from the library's mission statement. The following list categorizes the responsibilities of the trustees and librarian:

Trustees

  1. Establish goals and objectives of the library in a written long-range plan that should be revised annually.
  2. Determine and adopt written policies to govern the programs, operations, and use of the library.
  3. Consider any citizen or staff complaints or suggestions in regard to adopted policies.

 Librarian

  1.  Participates in the development of the long-range plan.
  2.  Recommends needed policies to the board of trustees.
  3.  Administers the library in accordance with adopted policies.
  4.  Interprets policies to staff and public. 

The policy manual must contain the following minimum information:

1. A statement of the goals and objectives of the library;
2. A detailed library materials selection policy* which includes selection priorities, the Library Bill of Rights, Freedom to Read statement and a procedure for handling citizen complaints.
3. Regulations for library use must include the following◦Hours of service
◦Loan periods and fines (if any)
◦Replacement of library materials
◦Policy in regard to abuse of library privileges
◦Acceptance or rejection of gifts
◦Use of library meeting rooms
◦Exhibits by individuals or organizations

4. Staff regulations must include the following: NOTE: most libraries are governed & funded by their city or county, and staff regulations would be the same as for that entity.◦leave, vacation, sick leave, holidays
◦travel time and expenses to library meetings, conferences, etc.
◦other fringe benefits
◦staff responsibilities, job descriptions and salary schedules

Library employee benefits, salaries and job descriptions should be compatible with the benefits, salaries and job descriptions of other employees of the local governmental unit.
The policy manual should be revised in entirety at least once every five years and reviewed annually.

Service Policies

Collection Development
•Scope of Collections
•Criteria for Selection
•Responsibility for Selection
•Gifts and Donations
•Evaluation, Weeding and Maintenance
•Access to Collections
•Intellectual Freedom
•Challenged Materials

Facilities Use
•Hours of Operation
•Accessibility
•Building Security
•Meeting Room Use
•Exhibits and Displays
•Bulletin Boards and Materials Distribution
•Patron Behavior
•Unattended Children
•Copiers and Other Equipment Use
•Emergencies and Disasters
Community Relations
•Public Information and Publicity
•Friends of the Library
•Partnerships and Cooperative Agreements
•Volunteers
•Suggestions and Complaints
 Materials Use and Circulation
•Borrower Eligibility
•Confidentiality of Patron Records
•Loan Periods and Renewals
•Requests for Items Unavailable
•Holds on Items Owned
•Requests for Purchase
•Fines and Interlibrary loans
•Reserved Materials
•Overdue Fines
•Charges for Damaged and Lost Materials
•Reference and Special Collections
Computer Access and Use
•Internet Safety Policy
•Printing Charges
 Services Offered
•Free
•Fee-based

Internal Policies

Board of Trustees Policies
•Authority
•Constitutions and Bylaws
•Appointments
•Roles and Job Descriptions
•Meetings
•Officers
•Risk Management
•Ethics
 Personnel
•Job Classifications and Descriptions
•Salary Schedule and Benefits
•Employee Recruitment, Selection, Appointment
•Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action
•Working Conditions
•Chain of Command
•Evaluation, Discipline and Termination
•Separation
•Grievances
•Association Memberships, Workshops and Travel
Finance
•Budget and Funding
•Financial Reports
•Purchasing
•Contracts and Bidding
•Investments
•Audits
•Bonding
 Property
•Insurance
•Gifts
•Capital Assets
•Inventory
•Surplus Property

Source: Tools for Trustees: The Georgia Public Library Trustee Manual by Lyn Hopper 

SD Library Policies Online
Alexander Mitchell (Aberdeen) http://www.aberdeen.sd.us/390/Library-Policies
Brookings Public http://www.cityofbrookings.org/DocumentCenter/Home/View/40
Freeman Public http://www.freemanlibrary.org/policies.html
Hot Springs Public http://www.hotspringspubliclibrary.com/library-policy/
Huron Public http://www.huronsd.com/living-in-huron/huron-public-library/library-policies
Madison Public http://www.madisonpubliclibrarysd.com/policies
Siouxland http://siouxlandlib.org/about-us/library-policies.aspx
Sturgis Public http://www.sturgis-sd.gov/index.aspx?NID=509
Watertown http://www.watertownsd.us/index.aspx?nid=270

Policy creation, samples
The South Dakota State Library has several books about policy creation. These are available through interlibrary loan. Search the library catalog at http://sdsl.booksys.net/opac/sdsl/#menuHome
Policy development information from ALA http://libguides.ala.org/librarypolicy 
Policies and procedures, WebJunction http://www.webjunction.org/explore-topics/policies-procedures/documents.html
Sample policies from Kentucky http://kdla.ky.gov/librarians/librarypolicies/Pages/LibraryOperationsPolicies.aspx 

Disaster preparedness policies
Librarian's Disaster Planning and Community Resiliency Guidebook - from the NJ State Library http://www.njstatelib.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/The-Librarian-Guidebook-Sept-10-Final-1.pdf
Librarian's Disaster Planning and Community Resiliency Workbook - from the NJ State Library http://www.njstatelib.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/The-Librarian-Workbook-Sept-18-Edited.pdf
Collections care & disaster response planning https://www.lyrasis.org/LYRASIS%20Digital/Pages/Preservation%20Services/Resources-and-Publications.aspx#CollectionsCare
California Preservation Program  (including disaster preparedness and response) https://calpreservation.org/
Kansas Cultural Heritage Emergency Resources Network https://kansaschern.wordpress.com/

Tech planning policies
Tech planning policy http://www.techsoupforlibraries.org/blog/reviewing-library-policies-an-important-step-in-technology-planning
Tech plan how-to How to Conduct a Quick Tech Plan http://forums.techsoup.org/cs/community/b/tsblog/archive/2013/12/13/how-to-conduct-quick-tech-plan.aspx
Tech priorities Identifying Technology Priorities https://www.techsoupcanada.ca/en/community/blog/tech_self_assessment
Tech plan Example 

Public Library Ordinance Samples
State Library of Iowa http://www.statelibraryofiowa.org/ld/t-z/Trustees/trusthandbook14/appendix/sample-public-library-ordinance
Lakeside Public Library: Creating a Public Library Board http://cityoflakeside.org/Ordinance_120.pdf

Loading ...