Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Access Outside the Library or School

HOW TO ACCESS DATABASES OUTSIDE LIBRARY OR SCHOOL

  1. Go to the South Dakota State Library website at https://library.sd.gov.
  2. Click on the “Databases” tab at the top of the page OR click on the databases icon further down the page.
  3. Search for the desired database by name or category. Databases are listed alphabetically.

 

NOTE: If patron IP address is not recognized as being within South Dakota, a pop-up screen will be displayed showing "Allow this application to use your location?" 

  • If patrons select Allow (recommended), and the browser determines they are within South Dakota, access should be click-and-go.
  • If patrons select Allow, and the browser determines they are not within South Dakota, they will be directed to the SHARE-IT log in screen.
  • If patrons select Denythey will be sent to the SHARE-IT log in screen.

Select your library from the dropdown list, enter your barcode and password on the SHARE-IT log in screen as you have in the past.

  • If you have your own personal State Library eCard, select the South Dakota State Library from the CHOOSE YOUR LIBRARY HERE dropdown, enter eCard barcode and PASSWORD IN ALL CAPS.

  • If your library does not participate in South Dakota Share-it, select South Dakota State Library (SDSIL) from the CHOOSE YOUR LIBRARY HERE dropdown. Then enter your local library’s eCard barcode and PASSWORD IN ALL CAPS.  *If you do not have the library’s eCard information, please contact your local library.

  • For some libraries that are participating in South Dakota Share-it, select your local library from the CHOOSE YOUR LIBRARY HERE dropdown, enter barcode (username) and password that you use to check out materials. *You may need to contact your library for the barcode/password.

  • For other libraries that are participating in South Dakota Share-it, log in using your local library’s eCard barcode and password. At the log in window, select your local library from the CHOOSE YOUR LIBRARY HERE dropdown, then enter the library's eCard barcode and PASSWORD IN ALL CAPS.  *If you do not have your local library’s eCard, please contact your local library.

ITEMS TO NOTE

  • GeoIP access applies to people accessing databases from outside a library or school.
  • If your students/patrons access the databases through a local proxy server, that process will remain the same. GeoIP does not apply.
  • Authentication is done by using the local IP addresses similar to authentication inside a library or school.
  • GeoIP does not apply to ReferenceUSA. An eCard is required.
  • Alert the SD State Library to any changes to your local library’s IP addresses. Failure to do so may cause access issues.
  • Those who live near the state's border are more likely to see the "Allow this application to use your location? inquiry and Share-it screens.
  • Please keep your local eCard barcode and password on file. The  eCard will remain on record, and can always be used as a backup.
Loading ...

Access Inside the Library or School

HOW TO ACCESS DATABASES INSIDE LIBRARY OR SCHOOL

  1. Go to the South Dakota State Library website at https://library.sd.gov.
  2. Click on the “Databases” tab at the top of the page OR click on the databases icon further down the page.
  3. Search for the desired database by name or category. Databases are listed alphabetically.

ITEMS TO NOTE

  • If your library accesses databases via South Dakota Share-It OR the via the SD State Library website at https://library.sd.gov, access is click-and-go via IP authentication.
  • If your library/patrons access databases via links on your library web page copied from the SD State Library website, ensure the linkable URL's are accurate. Access is click-and-go via IP authentication.
  • If your library/patrons access databases via links on your library web page using your own authentication such as EZproxy, access is through your library system.
Loading ...

Special Access Requirements

  • AncestryLibrary is accessible INSIDE library only.
  • ReferenceUSA accessible on State network computers only.

Library Cards