Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Primary Audience and Categories

Explora resources are searching interfaces. Consumer Health Complete (Consumer Edition) and Science Reference Center have newer interfaces. The remainder use the same interface; click choose databases to add or subtract resources. 

Promotional Materials

Choose the specific resource for materials  

EBSCO Resource List

Academic Search Premier

A general, multidisciplinary research database, with thousands of acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources. 
Category: General Research, Health & Medicine, Scholarly Research

Alt-Healthwatch

A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. 
Category: General Research, Health & Medicine

Business Searching Interface

Search for company profiles, country economic data, industry information, market research, and more.
Category: Business

Business Source Premier

Top journals covering all business disciplines; including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, and economics. 
Category: Business, General research, Scholarly Research

Consumer Health Complete (Consumer Edition)

Convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Browse medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. 
Category: General research, Health & Medicine

EBSCO eBook Collection

Over 10,000 books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers & more.
Category: Business, General research, Health & Medicine, Scholarly Research, High School

EBSCO MegaFILE

A combined search of EBSCO's Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Regional Business News databases. It includes thousands of articles and covers a wide variety of topics. Select "Choose Databases" to expand your search. 
Category: General research, Scholarly Research, High School

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

Indexed and full-text education literature and resources; essential for education researchers of all kinds.
Category: Education & Libraries

Explora

Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. 
Category: Education & Libraries, Elementary School, Middle SchoolHigh School

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

A student encyclopedia that provides over 25,000 entries on a wide variety of topics.
Category: General research, Elementary School, Middle School, High School

GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments, and minimizing negative impacts. 
Category: General research, Scholarly Research

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Consumer health information includes magazines, reference books, and current health pamphlets.
Category: General research, Health & Medicine

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. 
Category: Health & Medicine, Scholarly Research

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Indexes and abstracts for key library and information science journals, books, research reports and more. 
Category: Education & Libraries, Scholarly Research

MAS Ultra School Edition (Grades 9-12)

Contains full-text articles of popular high school magazines covering a range of subject areas, including history, science, and careers. 
Category: High School 

MasterFILE Premier

For public libraries; EBSCO provides magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and an extensive image collection with photos, maps and flags. 
Category: General, High School 

MiddleSearch Plus (Grades 5-8)

For middle schools; it has biographies, primary source documents, reference books, a vast image collection, and articles from popular middle school magazines. 
Category: Middle School

Points of View Reference Center

Presenting multiple sides of issues, it helps one create persuasive arguments and essays, understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills. 
Category: General Research, Scholarly Research, High School 

Primary Search (Grades K-6)

For elementary schools; it contains articles from popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedia entries and a large image collection. 
Category: Elementary School

Professional Development Collection

Full-text information for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers. 
Category: Education & Libraries, Scholarly Research

Readers’ Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)

Searchable full coverage of the original paper volumes of a broad selection of periodicals. 
Category: General research, Health & Medicine, Scholarly ResearchMiddle School, High School

Regional Business News Plus

Full-text worldwide business information. Includes newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, newswires and videos. 
Category: Business , General research

Science Reference Center

Articles from hundreds of science magazines, encyclopedias, reference books, and a large image collection; primarily for K-12 students. 
Category: General research, Elementary School, Middle SchoolHigh School 

Teacher Reference Center

Indexing and abstracts for over 200 of the most popular peer-reviewed teacher and administrator trade journals.
Category: Business, Scholarly Research