Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Help Patrons Discover Their Family History!

Genealogy Resources

undefined

 

Description

Ancestry Library is a version of Ancestry.com's celebrated genealogical database that provides instant access to more than one billion names in more than 3,000 databases, including digital images of the 1790-1940 US Censuses, as well as:

  • immigration, vital, court, church, and ethnic records
  • city directories
  • genealogical societies
  • Social Security Death Index
  • family history library
  • Civil War Pension Index
  • and 700 historical maps.

Special Login Instructions

Ancestry Library can only be accessed within a library building.

Help 

Ancestry Library Help

undefined

 

Description

Fold3 Library Edition by Ancestry provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos and documents of the men and women who served. It contains millions of records from world-class archives, many of which are exclusively available on Fold3. Fold3 is invaluable for historians, genealogists, researchers, military enthusiasts, veterans and their families, teachers and battle reenactors.

Help 

Fold3 Help

undefined

Description

Heritage Quest provides online and film products including census records, for genealogy and family history research.This essential collection of unique material is for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Use HeritageQuest to find your ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.

ARCHIVED SESSIONS

Ancestry, Fold3 & HeritageQuest:

Genealogy Resources by ProQuest Webinar Recording, December 4, 2019

AncestryLibrary:

Ancestry Library ‚Äč

Questions?

Please Contact

Kim Bonen
Digital Resources Coordinator
kim.bonen@state.sd.us
605-295-3174 or 605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

Nina Mentzel
Metadata Librarian
Nina.Mentzel@state.sd.us
605-773-6391 or 605-280-6911