Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services: State & Federal Government Publications

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Contact

Brenda Hemmelman, Collection Services Librarian, Brenda.Hemmelman@state.sd.us 
605-773-5075

Barb Nickolas, Government Publications Library Associate, Barb.Nickolas@state.sd.us  
605-773-5083

South Dakota State Government Publications

South Dakota State Government Publications are collected by the SD State Library in digital and paper (when available). Paper copies are placed in the state government collections at the state library, and digital publications are made available via the statewide library catalog and are also searchable via internet search engines and browsable in our online repository at https://cdm16384.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/.

Laws and Administrative Rules related to the program are located at (SDCL 14-1A Link to legis.state.sd.us and ARSD 24:30:07:06 Link to legis.state.sd.us). Depository libraries may dispose of materials which are more than five years old or are superseded by newer editions or cumulations.

Descriptions of many but not all South Dakota Government Publications are included in the SD State Library catalog, which may be searched by author, title, or subject. http://sdsl.booksys.net/opac/sdsl/#menuHome  State Government publications are shelved in the library according to the South Dakota Classification Schedule.

The South Dakota State Library serves as the state's depository for state agency publications.  During the 2012 legislative session, SDCL 14-1A-3 relating to the state publications distribution program operated by the South Dakota State Library was updated to include digital (electronic) publications.  Previously, state agencies were required to provide 13 paper copies of state-produced publications to the state library. The law was changed to reduce the number of paper copies and also include digital publications. 

The state library has an extensive collection of state publications from all agencies in state government, including historical information from agencies which no longer exist.  This collection is used extensively by state employees and the state library research staff for requests related to territorial and early South Dakota law, vital statistics from the Department of Health, current and historical information from various state departments, historical opinions from the Attorney General’s office, as well as current and historical information related to all manner of Boards, Departments, and Commissions.  Immediate access to this collection is often critical for state employees who cannot wait for an item to be borrowed from somewhere else in the state.  The state library is often the only library in the state with access to these documents.  
In addition to the SD State Library, South Dakota has two affiliate depository libraries in the state, SD State University Briggs Library and SD School of Mines & Technology Devereaux Library.  As affiliate depository libraries, Briggs and Devereaux receive a small number of paper copies of certain reports, are requested to provide links to electronic state publications in their library catalogs, and also provide training and research help to faculty, students, and the public that may need assistance with SD state government publications. 

Superseded SD Government Publications

**to obtain a list of superseded SD government publications, contact the state library at 605-773-3131; 800-423-6665 (SD Only) or email library@state.sd.us

The purpose of the superseded list is to assist SD government publications depository librarians in disposing of superseded materials. These recommendations may be useful in weeding obsolete, dated or ephemeral documents from shelves, map, microfiche and CD-ROM storage cabinets. The materials listed in this publication may be discarded before the normal 5-year statutory retention period for non-superseded materials, without submitting them on a weeding list for approval.

Unless otherwise noted, all items listed are “keep only latest edition/issue”, meaning that the latest edition or issue of the title needs to be kept. This is used for series issued with some type of regularity.

Caution: All depository librarians should note that this Superseded List does not require that materials be discarded. Do not dispose of any material that might be vital to the collection. Research libraries should be extremely cautious about weeding older editions and other items that are of historical or research value. When keeping superseded materials, it is important to mark them as “superseded” or “not current” because misinformation can be transmitted with outdated publications.

Acknowlegements: The SD State Library thanks Monique Christensen and the staff of the Siouxland Libraries who initiated this project and created the initial listing.

South Dakota Classification Schedule

**to obtain a copy of the SD classification schedule, contact the state library at 605-773-3131; 800-423-6665 (SD Only) or email library@state.sd.us

The classification schedule lists classification stem numbers assigned to state publications by the state library for cataloging and shelving purposes. The schedule contains a combination of both past and present departments (also offices, divisions, boards, commissions, etc.), and does not necessarily reflect current departmental structures.

The South Dakota State Library's Digital Collections reflect the history and culture of South Dakota.  Primarily of interest to librarians, researchers, and genealogists, our digital collections include newspaper articles, photographs, state documents, and more.  The collections are best viewed using Google Chrome.

SD state agencies by state statute are required to submit publications to the SD State Library.  SDSL is the historical repository for state government publications, some of which go back to territorial days.  State library staff is working to digitize and make available online many of these historical publications.  Historical documents that have already been digitized and made available include:

  • SD Legislative Manuals - Blue Books (1903-present)
  • Governors Inaugural/State of the State messages (territorial days - present)
  • Historical education documents
  • Biennial Reports of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (1890 - ongoing project)
  • SD Codified Laws (1877 - ongoing project)

Keep checking the online repository as more publications are loaded. Future titles will include SD Session Laws and SD House & Senate Journals. 

https://cdm16384.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/

Digital Services

The South Dakota State Library Digital Services Program was established in 2002 to further the library's mission to “lead the State in access to resources, advance literacy, and promote lifelong learning in the information age” through the use of technology.
•supports state government objectives by providing research and information resources and services
•supports development of digital local library services
•facilitates access to digital information resources which support education and information needs
•and develops online content in the form of vetted web resources and digitization of state publications, statistical report forms, and publications.

Archive-IT Collection is a collaboration of the South Dakota State Archives and the South Dakota State Library. It is used to preserve the websites of South Dakota State Government departments and agencies, including state-funded academic institutions. These websites host annual reports, rules and regulations, legislative documents, and other born-digital state publications.

The SD State Library provides online access to electronic versions of South Dakota state government publications. The South Dakota state statutes addressing the gathering of materials by the SD State Library can be found in Chapter 14-1A-3.

The Administrative Rules defining the number of copies state agencies should send to the state library can be found at: legis.state.sd.us.

Complete the form at the following page http://library.sd.gov/REF/dropbox.aspx and either attach a PDF of the publication or submit the URL of where the publication is linked from your agency website. 

South Dakota's Dingell-Johnson Reports, located at the South Dakota State Library and published by the South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks Web Link to SD Game Fish and Parks Department, provide comprehensive information on cooperative state and federal fish restoration and management projects in South Dakota since 1952.

You may search the state library catalog http://sdsl.booksys.net/opac/sdsl/#menuHome for "Dingell Johnson" to see a list of reports available.  

These reports are available for loan from the South Dakota State Library. Residents of South Dakota may request a loan by calling 1-800-423-6665, by sending an email message to library@state.sd.us, or by contacting their local library. Non-residents of South Dakota may request an interlibrary loan through their local library.

The state library also keeps a list of the Dingell-Johnson reports in word document format from 1952 to the present. If you wish to see what titles were produced in any particular year, contact the state library at 605-773-3131; 800-423-6665 (SD Only) or email library@state.sd.us

Loading

Federal Government Publications

The United States Government is the largest publisher in the world. It distributes materials in a variety of formats, including electronic, CD, microfiche, and paper. As part of its publishing program, the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) distributes certain classes of government documents free of cost to designated libraries throughout the United States and its territories.These libraries are known as Federal depository libraries.

Federal depository libraries must offer free, public access to their Federal collections, even if the depository library is part of a private academic institution. In addition, information specialists are available at these libraries to assist the American public to locate Federal information.

The SD State library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government publications. Public access to the government publication collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44, United States Code). In 2013, the state library transitioned to an electronic only depository library, providing online access through the library catalog. In addition, the state library retains print copies of federal publications that have any information related to South Dakota. 

FDLP Basic Collection  https://www.fdlp.gov/requirements-guidance/collections-and-databases/1442-basic-collection

South Dakota Federal Depository Libraries: 

Devereaux Library 
A depository since 1963, the library selects 22% of items.
South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

E. Y. Berry Library 
A depository since 1942, the library selects 32% of items.
Black Hills State University

Hilton M. Briggs Library 
A depository since 1889, the library selects 73% of items.
South Dakota State University

I. D. Weeks Library 
A depository since 1889, the library selects 36% of items.
University of South Dakota

Mikkelsen Library 
A depository since 1969, the library selects 24% of items.
Augustana University

Oglala Lakota College 
A depository since 2006. 
Academic/ Public Library & Archives

South Dakota State Library
A depository since 1973, the library is a electronic depository, providing access to documents in electronic format.

South Dakota Supreme Court Law Library 
A depository since 1978, the library selects 1% of items.

Williams Library 
A depository since 1963, the library selects 22% of items.
Northern State University

 

Federal Depository Library Program  https://www.fdlp.gov/

U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO)  https://www.gpo.gov/

FDsys - Federal Digital System: America's Authentic Government Information  https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/

Congress.gov  https://www.congress.gov// 

Welcome to the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)!

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

https://catalog.gpo.gov/F

Loading