Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

South Dakota State Library Services

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Grants Information

Candid (Foundation Center) Funding Information Network Partners 

The South Dakota State Library is a Funding Information Network partner with Candid https://candid.org/. This network has over 480 locations nationwide and is the largest nonprofit organization providing resources on funding, grants and philanthropy. As a member of this nationwide network of libraries, community foundations, and other nonprofit agencies, the South Dakota State Library provides visitors with free public access to grantmaker directories, books on fundraising and nonprofit management, and Candid's database, Foundation Directory Online Professional. The fully searchable database includes detailed profiles of all active U.S. foundations, as well as an extensive file of recent grants awarded by the nation's top funders. 

A new law requiring electronic filing of the Form 990 goes into effect in 2021 and thousands of nonprofit organizations will be e-filing for the first time. Here is a link to a helpful guide created by Aspen Institute’s Program on Philanthropy and Social Innovation. Introductory guide to e-filing. https://www.aspeninstitute.org/publications/opening-the-990/

Training

Kathleen Slocum and Brenda Hemmelman offer a free, 1-2 hour, Find the Money, Get the Grant training.  This includes basic information on how to write a grant, data resources for grant applications, websites with helpful information, and a demo of the Foundation Directory Online Database available at the SD State Library and Dakota State University Library.  Contact Brenda if interested in setting up a training session. 

Additional Resources

Emergency Financial Resources to help with COVID-19 hardships
https://learning.candid.org/resources/knowledge-base/covid-19-emergency-financial-resources/

Investing in Native Communities
https://nativephilanthropy.candid.org/
An interactive website to encourage greater funding and support to Native communities. 

Visualizing Funding for Libraries (from the Foundation Center)
http://libraries.foundationcenter.org/
The Visualizing Funding for Libraries data tool can help public, academic, and school libraries, as well as special collections, archives, and digital libraries, identify funding opportunities to support innovative projects and solutions for their communities.

Institute of Museums and Library Services
http://www.imls.gov 
Grants for museums, museum and library collaborations, libraries and tribal libraries.

How to Start a Nonprofit https://managementhelp.org/startingorganizations/start-nonprofit.htm

Becoming 501(C)3 https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1023.pdf

Candid Learning (formerly GrantSpace) https://learning.candid.org/

Aunt Bertha - recommended by Candid - search for free or reduced cost services.