Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

COVID-19 Resources

Newest Updates


Telling Your Story: Documenting COVID-19 in South Dakota - Help the SD State Historical Society document the pandemic in South Dakota. 

 

Texas State Library Reopening Libraries Resource Guide

Plan Examples and Resources - from ND State Library

Reopening Guide - from SC State Library

Reopening Guidelines - from Missouri

Staged Reopening - from Colorado Library Consortium

Recommendations from Georgia

Reopening - Not When, but How - American Libraries

Curbside Service and Phased Reopening Information - From RAILS (Reaching Across Illinois Library System)

Returning to Service: Libraries and COVID-19

Governor Noem's "Back to Normal" Plan

 

If your South Dakota library has developed a plan you would like to share with others, please send to Brenda.Hemmelman@state.sd.us and we will post it on this page. 

Visit our School Libraries & COVID-19 page for topics useful to both school and public libraries including read alouds and fair use.

Topics include:

  • SDSL Databases for K-12
  • Digital books
  • Read Alouds & Fair Use
  • Digital Learning Tools
  • Freebies from Publishers & Vendors
  • Virtual Experiences
  • For Kids
  • Professional Time
  • Webinars & Continuing Education

 

Archived Webinars:

Mitigating COVID-19 When Managing Paper-Based, Circulating, and Other Types of Collections

A webinar sponsored by GALE: AL Live webcast "Libraries and COVID-19: Managing Strategies and Stress" 

Webinar recording
________________

Libraries and COVID-19: Considering Copyright during a Crisis webcast on April 3, 2020 using WebEx.

Your follow-up resources include:

Libraries and COVID-19: Considering Copyright During a Crisis, Part 2 webcast on April 17, 2020 using WebEx.

Your follow-up resources include:

_________________

Amigos Library Services Webinar recording:

"Know and Go: Don't Stand So Close to Me - Strategies you need right now to respond to COVID-19 in your face-to-face and remote work spaces" Click on Watch on the web instead

Some of the activity that’s happening in public libraries right now does not fit neatly into the definitions of the federal data elements we collect on the Public Libraries Survey (your annual report). We don’t know what extra data will be collected regarding library services during the COVID-19 pandemic or how definitions might be stretched to include them. In the meantime, the State Library is providing guidelines for recording library statistics.

Public service (open) hours

  • Keep track of the day the library closed and the day it reopens.
  • Keep track of the hours you had staff working behind closed doors.

Library programs and program attendance

  • Keep separate track of virtual programs (programs hosted online).
  • Count live virtual programs and find a way to count the attendees. Keep track of those statistics in the same way as you track on-site programs—but keep your statistics separate from on-site programs.
  • Keep track of the recorded programs you post and the number of views. You may also wish to record other engagement metrics offered by the hosting platforms.

>>Consider starting a spreadsheet to record the stats for each virtual or recorded program. It will be easier to sort out at the end of the year.

Curbside service

  • Keep separate track of the number of curbside transactions performed.

YOU can collect any statistics you want--they just may not be included on the PLS. The statistics you collect should reflect the story you want to tell. How did you meet the needs of your community during the COVID crisis? How many times? Did closure allow your staff to catch up on needed library tasks or to begin new projects?

If you have questions about data collection and reporting, please contact Shawn.Behrends@state.sd.us.

E-Resource Information

JSTOR has “an expanded set of content that is available to institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19 through June 30, 2020”.

GALE RESOURCES TO SUPPORT LIBRARIES AND EDUCATORS IMPACTED BY COVID-19

  • Resources: Interdisciplinary, curriculum-aligned resources to support online learning from pre-K through undergraduate.  Please note, Miss Humbelbee’s Academy is provided on this site also. Our message on the site about sharing resources – “If you have access to these resources through your public, school, district or statewide library, please leverage those resources so you can capture the usage at the appropriate account level.  If you plan to share any of the additional open resources with students, faculty, patrons or other people in your community, please let them know they may be prompted to enter with a password.  The password is “open.”
  • Training: Live and on-demand training materials to help partners optimize their existing resources 
  • Supporting Online Learning: Professional development eBooks to help those transitioning to and strengthening virtual learning 
  • Expert Insights: Authoritative Gale resources to support research on health-related topics and global issues

Learn at Home

  • We want you to know that Scholastic is here for you, your teachers, and of course, your students and their families.
  • Regardless of your virtual learning plans, preparing instructional content for weeks away from school can be daunting. To support you, we’ve created the Scholastic Learn at Home website. This free resource provides all students with 20* days’ worth of learning journeys that span the content areas so you can keep your students academically active while your buildings are closed.
  • The site supports students with approximately three hours of learning opportunities per day, including projects, articles and stories, virtual field trips, reading and geography challenges, and more. These daily learning opportunities were carefully curated by our editors to reduce the burden on teachers and families needing to create meaningful learning experiences.
  • The Scholastic Learn at Home website has the username or password posted on the first page, so it is open freely to all, on any device. They are designed to limit the need for printing and allow students to learn independently or with their families.
  • We welcome you to share this free resource with your communities by including in your virtual education plans or including the link on your school and/or district websites.
  • www.scholastic.com/learnathome  - Keeping Kids Reading, Thinking, and Growing

            Username: Learning20

            Password:  Clifford

Booklist Announces Free Online Access for All

Posted: 19 Mar 2020

By Booklist Reader

As of today, all Booklist and Book Links content on www.booklistonline.com is freely available until further notice.

“The COVID-19 threat is unprecedented and will continue to cause extreme disruption, both personally and professionally,” said George Kendall, editor and publisher of Booklist Publications. “At Booklist, published by the American Library Association, we want to help minimize these disruptions where we can for all library staff along with their students and patrons. With that in mind, we hope the following information and resources will be helpful.”

“We appreciate our readers and understand you are facing major challenges and disruptions,” Kendall said. “Please do not hesitate to contact us and let us know how we can help.”   read more →

Upgraded premier products EBSCO is offering through June 28th, 2020:
 

Scroll down to the bottom of the list to access:

  • Academic Search Ultimate over 9,200 active full-text journals and magazine
  • Business Source Ultimate over 3,200 active full-text journals and magazine
  • Academic eBook Subscription Collection over 200,000 eBooks

 

 

What is Faculty Select?

Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.

With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020. Contact your EBSCO representative if you have any questions or want to learn more.

Faculty can use this link to access now.

How will it work?

Faculty can then search more than 12,400 Open Educational Resources, and copy/paste links to relevant materials into their Learning Management System (LMS) or send links to the material directly to students to access.

Faculty can also search and discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks; if they discover an e-book of interest, they can contact their librarian to discuss potentially purchasing.

COVID-19 Healthcare Information Portal now available from EBSCO Information Services. (EBSCO Information Services) A team of healthcare professionals and evidence-based medical experts at EBSCO Information Services has launched a COVID-19 portal which aggregates real-time information updates from authoritative sources to provide information on all aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Click here to access: COVID-19 Healthcare Information Portal

Learning Express Library provides resources for Career, Practice Tests, Elementary, Middle School, and High School.

Here is "How-To" information: Learning Express

There is a full length video (20 minutes), plus shorter ones on each aspect of how to use the resource.

There is also a one page Quick Start Guide here: Quick Start Guide

 

 

Candid is granting free public access to the Foundation Directory Online "Essential" version of their massive grants database during the COVID-19 event. 

The FDO Essential version has access to 103,000+ expanded grantmaker profiles, 300,000+ contacts (key decision makers and leaders), and searchable 990s and 990 PDFs. 

Trying to search for grants from home? You can access Candid’s (candid.org) Foundation Directory Online through the SD State Library by clicking here. 

SD State Library can also assist you with funding searches directly. Contact Brenda.Hemmelman@state.sd.us for help. 

Here is a tutorial created by another Candid partner on how to search FDO Essential. 

Please see the attached list of databases with temporary access until June 2020.

ProQuest has a Coronavirus Research Database. You may access it in either of these ways:

Direct link: ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database

Or

If you access one of our other ProQuest resources, like ProQuest Research Library, if you click on Change databases:

You will see it on the list: