Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services: South Dakota Titles to Go

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

South Dakota Titles to Go powered by Overdrive

A consortium of dozens of South Dakota public libraries who share downloadable ebooks and audiobooks. This affordable, self-funded, collection is provided by OverDrive. The South Dakota State Library coordinates South Dakota Titles To Go. Public libraries may join any time. Overdrive Logo

Visit southdakota.lib.overdrive.com

Introduction

Program Description:

The OverDrive program provides participating public library patrons the ability to download audiobooks and ebooks from the public library website. Downloadable audiobooks and ebooks are available in a wide variety of popular genres, including bestsellers, fiction, romance, suspense, children's, young adult, business, self-help and language learning. Downloadable audiobooks and ebooks may be checked out for a period of time, placed on the patron's computer, or transferred to a portable device.

Audiobooks and ebooks are automatically returned when due.

Participating libraries sign participation agreements with OverDrive, which manages all billing and financial aspects directly with the participating library.

Other Information

SD Titles To Go now has Lexile measures, along with interest (grade level) and ATOS levels to assist in locating books for children at their reading level. The levels are located on the right side of the SD Titles To Go search results page with all the other search filters (format, subject etc.)

Loading ...

Authentication

How do patrons access the downloadable audiobooks? (Authentication):

OverDrive provides these types of authentication:

  • Authentication incorporated with individual library integrated library systems (ILS) using authentication scheme provided by the library’s ILS vendor. Individual libraries may experience additional charges by ILS vendors to set up authentication.
  • Click-through authentication that transfers the patron’s session from the individual library catalog to OverDrive
  • OverDrive’s Library Card Manager, in which the individual library uploads patron barcodes for patrons to OverDrive. This method can be used by libraries with or without automation.
  • OverDrive works with multiple barcode schemes. For example, in the case of overlap, patrons could be required to select their home library.

Each participating library can choose the option that works best for them.

Overdrive Magazines

South Dakota Titles to Go users have access to fifty popular magazines.

Users can easily search, borrow, read, and download magazines seamlessly on the Libby app or Overdrive Read, with no additional required apps or logins.

- Titles are simultaneous use and have no circulation cap.

- Lending periods are the same as it is for books. Titles can be renewed.

- Magazines will not count toward a patron's total checkout limit.

- Magazines are in OverDrive Read format, which allows a fixed-layout viewing experience, with zooming, bookmarking, and table of contents navigation capabilities.

MAGAZINE TITLE LIST

DOWNLOADABLE PROMOTIONAL MATERIALS

Cost to Join and the Purchasing Committee

Each participating public library pays a single annual fee based on population service area (from current NCES data.). Subscription term is January 1 - December 31. Libraries may sign up anytime. Libraries will "go live" approximately four weeks from sign-up.

Tier

Legal Service
Area Population

Annual Fee

1

Up to 1,499

$600

2

1,500 — 9,999

$1,500

3

10,000 — 29,999

$3,000

4

30,000 +

$6,000

  • Annual fees = annual fee based on legal service area population based on NCES data
  • The annual fee will be pro-rated if a library joins mid cycle.
  • Look up your library's tier harvester.census.gov

 

Collection Funding and Selection:

The South Dakota Titles To Go annual fee includes the purchase of the titles. Fee breakdown:

  • One-third of the annual participation fee is allocated toward configuration, system fees and maintenance.
  • Two-thirds of the annual participation fee is allocated toward titles for the shared collection.

 

Individual titles are purchased using the participation fees allocated towards titles. The average price per audiobook title is approximately $40; however, prices are set by the publisher and vary widely. Ebook prices are significantly less. Titles purchased are available to all participating libraries.

A 5 person volunteer selection committee selects titles. Content is purchased approximately every two weeks. Content budget is spent equally on audio and ebooks. All participating libraries may submit title lists to the committee.

To Enroll/Participation Form

Each participating library must complete an OverDrive participation form PDF Download to Overdrive Participation Form. Public libraries can enroll anytime. Send enrollment forms directly to OverDrive via the contact information below:

Via fax:
Sales
Fax: 216-573-6888

Via mail:
Sales
OverDrive. Inc.
One OverDrive Way
Cleveland, Ohio 44125

Via email:
Sales (sales@overdrive.com Email)

 

The 2018 Collection Development Committee, tier represented, and term expiration (ends Dec. 31 of that year).

Member

Tier

Term Exp.

 

LeAnn Kaufman
Freeman Public Library

1

2018

 

Rachel Davila
Hot Springs Public Library

2

2019

 

Melinda Ellenson
Huron Public Library

3

2018

 

Shirley Arment
KO Lee Library, Aberdeen    

4

2019

 

Dana Schmidt
Yankton Community Library

At-Large           

2020

 

Committee members meet annually to elect new members and officers and to discuss suggested policy changes and updates. See minutes from past meetings here:

See the most current bylaws for more information.

Loading ...

Advantage and Advantage Plus

Overdrive Advantage gives libraries the ability to offer popular title exclusively for their patrons. OverDrive Advantage libraries can purchase additional copies of popular titles that are already in the shared collection, as well as titles that are not yet available. There is also a one-time setup fee. Please contact Overdrive's SD Titles To Go account manager for more information.

Advantage Plus allows one to share some or all of the library's Advantage content with the consortium. Which titles that are shared depends upon the settings chosen by the individual Advantage library; libraries must set up Advantage Plus plans in Overdrive Marketplace to share titles. Note that when an eligible title is shared, all copies of the title will be included.

  • Shared titles will still belong to the Advantage member. Users of any library in the shared collection can borrow or place holds on these titles, but Advantage users will have priority for holds.
  • Titles with active checkouts or holds can be shared if the Advantage Plus plan allows it.
  • All reports will show that the shared titles belong to the Advantage member.

Help

Overdrive's Phone number: 1-800-423-6665.

South Dakota Titles To Go Help (southdakota.lib.overdrive.com Link to South Dakota Titles to Go Help pages)

Marketing, patron training and library training resources (partners.overdrive.com Link to Overdrive training center)

Devices that are compatible with OverDrive are listed in the Device Resource Center Link to Overdrive's Device Resource Center.

Loading ...

State Library Contact

Please Contact

David Bradford
Digital Resources Coordinator
David.Bradford@state.sd.us
605-295-3174 or 605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

Listserv Registration

At least one staff member from each participating library should be signed up for the SDTTGPUB listserv, where concerns, announcements and general information about the Consortium are shared. Additional staff members from each library are also encouraged to join.

Ordering

All participating libraries may submit title lists to the committee. For new members or members who just want a refresher, visit resources.overdrive.com URL Link to overdrive dot com with printable PDFs and videos on how to order and run reports in the market place.

Loading ...