Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services: Services for SD State Employees

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Services for South Dakota State Employees

The ECardPlus is the South Dakota State Library ECard for State Employees. This card enables direct access to research assistance, materials, trainings, and specialized services. To apply for a card, go to http://library.sd.gov/forms/librarycard/employee.aspx

As a employee of the State of South Dakota, your State Library ECardPlus will allow you direct access to the following:

Personal Research Assistance

  • Via Phone, Email, In-Person
  • Statistical Data
  • Census Information
  • Public Policy
  • Economic Development
  • Grants Research

Research Materials

  • Books
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Audio Visual
  • State & Federal Publications - current and historical
  • Grants Research Database

Specialized Services

  • Consultation for Special Projects
  • Braille/Audio Materials
  • Exam proctoring
  • Interlibrary Loan

Electronic Resources

  • Government Information
  • National Phone Directories
  • Full-text journal articles
  • E-books
  • Practice Tests
  • Full-text encyclopedias

Training Available

  • Electronic Resources
  • Reference Services
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Grants Resources
 

Frequently Asked Questions about SDSL ECards:

How do I get a library card?
Fill out this form http://library.sd.gov/forms/librarycard/employee.aspx and click on the submit button. Your request will be processed within two business days. If you have questions, please contact the State Library directly at 605-773-3131 or 1-800-423-6665 (SD ONLY) or by email to library@state.sd.us
What is my password for at home access?
Your password is your last name in ALL CAPS (e.g. SMITH).
Where can I access the databases?
You can access the databases from inside any school, library or academic institution in SD, or at home with a SD State Library card. A full listing of the online databases is available http://library.sd.gov/LIB/ERD/access/complete.aspx.

Article Research

Search databases that describe and index articles found in many magazines, professional/scholarly journals, and South Dakota/national newspapers. Many of the databases also contain the article(s) in full-text. The electronic resources that are categorized here http://library.sd.gov/LIB/ERD/access/state.aspx are all accessible from the PCs of SD State Government employees. In addition, most of the databases can be accessed from home with a state library EcardPlus (for state employees).

Digital Services

The South Dakota State Library Digital Services Program was established in 2002 to further the library's mission to “lead the State in access to resources, advance literacy, and promote lifelong learning in the information age” through the use of technology.
•supports state government objectives by providing research and information resources and services
•supports development of digital local library services
•facilitates access to digital information resources which support education and information needs
•and develops online content in the form of vetted web resources and digitization of state publications, statistical report forms, and publications.

The South Dakota State Library's Digital Collections reflect the history and culture of South Dakota. Our collections are primarily of interest to researchers, genealogists, and librarians. Go to Online State Publications (CONTENTdm Digital Collections)

Archive-IT Collection is a collaboration of the South Dakota State Archives and the South Dakota State Library. It is used to preserve the websites of South Dakota State Government departments and agencies, including state-funded academic institutions. These websites host annual reports, rules and regulations, legislative documents, and other born-digital state publications.

 

The Research staff of the South Dakota State Library provides assistance in finding journal articles, books, and more. Our staff can help with your research needs, obtaining articles, books, and other resources that can be emailed to you or shipped via interoffice mail. Submit requests via phone (605-773-3131), by using the research request forms below, by email library@state.sd.us or in person at the MacKay Building, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre.

Article Research

Search databases that describe and index articles found in many magazines, professional/scholarly journals, and South Dakota/national newspapers. Many of the databases also contain the article(s) in full-text.

 

South Dakota State Government Publications are collected by the SD State Library in digital and paper (when available). SDCL 14-1A 

A full description of the state and federal depository program can be found at http://libguides.library.sd.gov/c.php?g=667085&p=4780085

 

The SD State Library provides online access to electronic versions of South Dakota state government publications. The South Dakota state statutes addressing the gathering of materials by the SD State Library can be found in Chapter 14-1A.

Submit state publications to the state library at http://library.sd.gov/REF/dropbox.aspx

 

Trainings are available for State Employees on the services that the SD State Library provides, including the Electronic Resources, Reference Services, Interlibrary Loan, and also Grant Resources. SDSL staff can come to your monthly workgroup meeting and give a short 20-30 minute presentation highlighting state library resources available to state agency employees. In depth trainings on specific databases are also available. Contact Brenda.Hemmelman@state.sd.us for more information.

Thinking about recording a podcast or an audio file to post on the agency website? The South Dakota State Library has a digital audio recording studio.

We will engineer the recording, and then you will control the editing and the hosting of the file. Recordings are done in WAV format, but easily converted to MP3 format.

Consider recording your newsletters in audio format for the visually impaired (example: Braille and Talking Book Newsletter)

For more information, please contact josh.easter@state.sd.us.

Are you working on a degree and need your exams proctored? SDSL staff are happy to proctor exams for you. Space and quiet work areas are available for you to work on your degree, as well as obtain research assistance for your degree related projects or papers.

Contact Brenda.Hemmelman@state.sd.usfor more information.

Loading

MacKay Building - State Library

Contact

Brenda Hemmelman
Collection Services Librarian

Brenda.Hemmelman@state.sd.us 
605-773-5075