Skip to main content

South Dakota State Library Services

A list of services provided by the South Dakota State Library.

Voluntary Certification for Public Library Staff

The State Library recognizes public library directors and staff who update their knowledge and skills on a continuing basis. The goals of this program are to help library directors and staff acquire and maintain skills in order to provide better library service to their communities.

Certificates are awarded by the State Library during the annual SDLA conference in September.

  • The deadline for applications is September 5, 2018. Mailed applications must be postmarked by September 3, 2018, for consideration.
  • An individual's certification is valid for three (3) years.
  • To renew at the same level will require 30 contact hours of continuing education during that 3-year period.

Applicants must supply a diploma, transcripts, and/or approved contact hours form (below) for SDSL committee approval.

Loading ...

Voluntary Accreditation for Public Libraries

South Dakota Public Library Standards is a self-evaluation tool. These standards are intended to:

  • Provide a tool to assess the quality of library service
  • Identify areas needing improvement
  • Aid libraries in gaining maximum community support

The South Dakota State Library accreditation committee will review all applications. Libraries will receive accreditation certificates at Legislative Day in January, in Pierre.

The manual is divided into three sections by level of accreditation:

  • ESSENTIAL — the minimum which should be available to all
  • ENHANCED — an expansion of services beyond the basic
  • EXEMPLARY — the highest level of service

Each section is then divided into the following categories:

  • Governance
  • Administration
  • Access
  • Collections and Resources
  • Funding
  • Staffing
  • Technology
  • Public Relations

Each standard is presented as a statement, allowing the library to easily determine whether it meets or does not meet the criteria.

Accreditation applications may be submitted September 18 through December 15, 2017.

Library accreditations reflect three calendar years.

Loading ...