NEW: small sampling of reputable consumer-level COVID vaccine info for libraries to provide to patrons:
There’re also MedlinePlus articles and tutorials on evaluating Internet health information.
Eventually, there will be a CDC VIS (Vaccination Information Statement) sheet about the COVID vaccine here: https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/current-vis.html
Here is a “spotting fake news” handout: https://guides.library.cornell.edu/evaluate_news/infographic
Siouxland Libraries https://www.siouxlandlib.org/reopen
Plan Examples and Resources - from ND State Library
Reopening Guide - from SC State Library
Reopening Guidelines - from Missouri
Staged Reopening - from Colorado Library Consortium
Reopening - Not When, but How - American Libraries
Curbside Service and Phased Reopening Information - From RAILS (Reaching Across Illinois Library System)
If your South Dakota library has developed a plan you would like to share with others, please send to Brenda.Hemmelman@state.sd.us and we will post it on this page.
Visit our School Libraries & COVID-19 page for topics useful to both school and public libraries including read alouds and fair use.
Here is a graphic courtesy of the Alaska State Library sharing REALM project results of how long the virus lasts on certain materials.
A webinar sponsored by GALE: AL Live webcast "Libraries and COVID-19: Managing Strategies and Stress"
Libraries and COVID-19: Considering Copyright during a Crisis webcast on April 3, 2020 using WebEx.
Your follow-up resources include:
Libraries and COVID-19: Considering Copyright During a Crisis, Part 2 webcast on April 17, 2020 using WebEx.
Your follow-up resources include:
Amigos Library Services Webinar recording:
Please follow these guidelines when recording service statistics for 2020.
Additional data elements will be added to the FY 2020 PLS to report virtual (online) live and recorded programs.
The Annual Public Service Hours you report on the PLS covers only hours that patrons are permitted to come into the building. Hours that the library was physically closed but staff provided services to the public cannot be recorded under this data element. Please track those activities separately.
Service transactions that are delivered outside of the library cannot be counted under the Library Visits data element. (Visits means the people come into the building.) Please track those activities separately.
YOU can collect any statistics you want--but they might not be included on the PLS. The statistics you collect should reflect the story you want to tell. How did you meet the needs of your community during the COVID pandemic? How many times? Did closure allow your staff to catch up on needed library tasks or to begin new projects?
If you have questions about data collection and reporting, please contact Shawn.Behrends@state.sd.us.
JSTOR has “an expanded set of content that is available to institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19 through June 30, 2020”.
Learn at Home
Posted: 19 Mar 2020
By Booklist Reader
As of today, all Booklist and Book Links content on www.booklistonline.com is freely available until further notice.
“The COVID-19 threat is unprecedented and will continue to cause extreme disruption, both personally and professionally,” said George Kendall, editor and publisher of Booklist Publications. “At Booklist, published by the American Library Association, we want to help minimize these disruptions where we can for all library staff along with their students and patrons. With that in mind, we hope the following information and resources will be helpful.”
“We appreciate our readers and understand you are facing major challenges and disruptions,” Kendall said. “Please do not hesitate to contact us and let us know how we can help.” read more →
Scroll down to the bottom of the list to access:
What is Faculty Select?
Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.
With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020. Contact your EBSCO representative if you have any questions or want to learn more.
Faculty can use this link to access now.
How will it work?
Faculty can then search more than 12,400 Open Educational Resources, and copy/paste links to relevant materials into their Learning Management System (LMS) or send links to the material directly to students to access.
Faculty can also search and discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks; if they discover an e-book of interest, they can contact their librarian to discuss potentially purchasing.
COVID-19 Healthcare Information Portal now available from EBSCO Information Services. (EBSCO Information Services) A team of healthcare professionals and evidence-based medical experts at EBSCO Information Services has launched a COVID-19 portal which aggregates real-time information updates from authoritative sources to provide information on all aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Click here to access: COVID-19 Healthcare Information Portal
Learning Express Library provides resources for Career, Practice Tests, Elementary, Middle School, and High School.
Here is "How-To" information: Learning Express
There is a full length video (20 minutes), plus shorter ones on each aspect of how to use the resource.
There is also a one page Quick Start Guide here: Quick Start Guide
Please see the attached list of databases with temporary access until June 2020.
ProQuest has a Coronavirus Research Database. You may access it in either of these ways:
Direct link: ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database
If you access one of our other ProQuest resources, like ProQuest Research Library, if you click on Change databases:
You will see it on the list: